We’ve been in Germany for 1 year and 2 months now. I can’t believe how different my life is. The biggest change is that we have a kid. She’s called Jane and she is amazing. Image

This has made life different but not unmanageable. Becca went to the states last week to see her dying grandmother and she of course took Jane. It was in some ways nice to have some alone time but after a week without my wife and daughter I felt a bit empty. I can’t really think of a better word. I had tons of free time but I didn’t get very much done. I did some work on my bike and tried to clean the house. The house ended up being worse after I got done with it. I have this strange habit of organizing tool boxes and cabinets but not actually cleaning the house. It’s a weakness that I’m working through. 

Another big change that I didn’t even see coming is our new relationship with bikes. We use bikes to get everywhere. When we go somewhere with Jane we put her in the baby bike trailer and drag her along with us. We got through the coldest months of the winter with some common sense and some scarves and mittens. I am so grateful that we live in an area where biking is not only possible but easy. Image

Becca even started commuting to work by bike. She saves over 60 Euros a month by doing this. It also gives her a time to exercise, mentally prepare for the day, and a time to unwind. 

That’s all for now. Things are great and I feel like they’re just getting better. 

 

Uncategorized

3 thoughts on “We’ve been in …

  1. Dear Ryan (and Becca),

    First, I’m sorry for posting this (semi)personal message here, but I couldn’t find your e-mail address on the site.

    Someone from GCC mentioned that you were blogging–and had some interesting news. Now I see what they mean. It’s OK, my friend. As I can see from your quick auto-biography, you’ve had some ups and downs in your spiritual and intellectual journey. So, you’re still on the road…as we all are.

    It’s certainly heartening to know that you’re rethinking the Faith, if you did not find it genuinely compelling. Doubts are often looked at as a mere lack of faith. In fact, doubts are simply the emotional movements of our soul’s search to find something to trust. For example, you described your emptiness with the absence of Becca and Jane, which suggests that you trust in their presence as an essential part of your life–i.e., you have faith in those people and their love for you. For that matter, this entire process of rethinking your faith reveals that you’re trusting in your reasoning faculties to lead you into truth (e.g., studying the sciences of astronomy and biology). So, I think it’s fair to say that you still possess faith–as does everyone–it’s simply a matter of the locus of your faith–i.e., that which you are trusting in to make sense of reality.

    But, I’m sure you knew these things before I mentioned them. I just thought I’d chime in to let you know that searching for the truth is still what we’re all devoted to.

    While I continue to find the claims of Jesus Christ compelling, you’ve decided that they are lacking in some way. (Indeed, my family has been making its own journey toward the pre-modern Christian church, which we find more believable than any of the recent versions of Christianity.)

    Though I would be happy to explore the reality of the Word Made Flesh with you, I’m aware that you may need to take some time before your ready to seriously re-evaluate your former faith. Too often folks are easily consoled by a Sunday School version of the Faith, and that won’t stand up to scrutiny–and the painful realities of a broken, disordered world. I have no desire to offer you glib answers to the tough questions.

    But, if you’re truly seeking to know what is real, then you’ll continue asking authentic questions–and you won’t rest easy until those questions find answers. You might say that our hearts are restless for justice and mercy, and we cannot rest until we find a satisfactory answer to those needs. We all hunger for those spiritual essentials. But, the question is, where do we go for spiritual nourishment? Does anyone in this world know how to genuinely produce love, peace, and joy? I hope so. And, I imagine that you do, too…

    Hope you have a pleasant holiday with your family and friends.

    Your friend,

    Rob Jackson
    [rjackson (at) tkc.edu]

    1. Rob,
      Thanks so much for posting here. I appreciate your acceptance. I’ve been meaning to get in touch with you for a while and I’m glad that you reached out. I’m sad that I wasn’t in a position to spend more time with you and pick your brain about every topic there is. I’ll send you an email.
      Honor,
      Ryan

Leave a Reply

