Tiny Review of “Searching For Sunday” by Rachel Held Evans

Uncategorized

I read  by . The whole thing reads like a prayer and is probably the most meditative and overtly belief oriented book I’ve read. It brought up a lot of memories of my high school youth group days and my time being involved in a kind of church start-up in the early 2000s. Although I think I agree with Rachel on nearly every topic I’ve read her opinions on, it was almost uncomfortable at times because I realized that I think of Rachel as someone who is disillusioned with God as I am. I don’t think that is accurate though, her story is one of true independence of thought mixed with a real and deep faith in the redemptive power of Jesus. If you are a non believer or an ex christian and want to make yourself uncomfortable by reading an intelligently conceived, prayerful memoir, this book would be a good place to start. If you are someone who has dismissed Evans as a heretic for her views and opinions, you need to read this. I think this would challenge you as well. Rachel, please continue to write books.

2 thoughts on “Tiny Review of “Searching For Sunday” by Rachel Held Evans

Leave a Reply

